Two FIT Students Win Prestigious Fashion Scholarship Fund Awards

illustrations of garment designs
Sketches from Lily Noble’s case study presentation.

The 130 members of the Class of 2024 Fashion Scholarship Fund (FSF) Scholars and Virgil Abloh Post-Modern Scholars were announced on Thursday, January 18. Among the winners are two FIT students, Jennifer DeBellis, Advertising and Marketing Communications ’26, and Lily Noble, Fashion Design AAS ’24.

FSF awards scholarships based on an annual competition in which students submit case studies addressing a particular theme. This year, the competition focused on environmental, social, and corporate governance (ESG) pillars such as sustainability and circularity, accessibility and community, and technology.

DeBellis won one of two $10,000 WHP Global X FSF Scholarships, awarded annually to undergraduates based on their performance in a competition. Her winning case study focused on expanding the ESG of Rare Beauty, a brand founded by Selena Gomez, to include a new environmental initiative, which she dubbed Rare Earth.

Noble received one of nine $10,000 awards from the Macy’s, Inc. Jeff Gennette Scholarship Program. Noble’s case study proposed a merino wool activewear line in partnership with sustainable apparel company Reformation, tailored to the needs of people with skin conditions and sensitivities.

The 2024 FSF Scholar webpage lists the names, backgrounds, and case studies of the winners, and recognizes the sponsors and supporters who helped fund this year’s scholarships.

This year, FSF will grant over $1.4 million in scholarship support to 162 college students, including 32 Community College Scholars, with awards ranging from $5,000 to $25,000. This amount includes 70-plus named scholarships and scholarship programs that will likely make a difference in the scholars’ professional futures. Of the Class of 2024, 62% of the scholars are BIPOC, 15% are in the first generation in their families to attend college, and 31% are Pell Grant–eligible (demonstrating financial need).

The new scholars will be celebrated on April 8 at the FSF LIVE Gala where their work will be displayed.

Related Posts